What advice/tips would you give beginners?

As most of you hopefully know by now, I am an admin of the SM Wiki. Unfortunately due to not having access to stats and images for items, the amount of editing being done in the wiki has massively slowed down. However one thing the wiki is lacking that can be added is a beginners guide. Someone had attempted to create a guide previously, but they involved more personal statements than helpful tips. After re-writing or deleting these guides, we are left with a small tips page and some general info about the game.

Due to this, I have decided to write a beginner's guide that covers pretty much everything there is to know. As I am a human, I can't think of every little thing to include, so:

What is the most important thing for beginners to know in your opinion?

What tips would you give beginners?

Literally anything that beginners should know or at least be aware of would be very helpful!

"Religion is ignorance of reality" - Primary Iterator Kyril Sindermann

The quickest way to get better at this game, as a beginner, is to focus on obtaining (and efficiently using) as much gold as fast as you possibly can. This starts with the deactivation of base, because all new accounts created have it enabled by default. You'll want to politely ask a developer via PM on these forums, and be sure to include your player ID.

Once you have base disabled, congratulations! You've just gained access to 1x and 5x silver boxes, which can now be purchased for gold. 5x silver boxes are going to be what you should be spending your gold on. They technically have the chance to drop any non premium item in the game (disregarding perks and paint) which will give you the tools required to make a viable mech for completing campaign missions. There are a plethora of players with too much time on their hands (myself included!) willing and able to help you develop a solid well rounded mech.